Entry for TOI competition

Our Expression of Love.

  • By Nishita Agarwal

 

She was in my college. No I guess, I was her in college and it was my luck.

She was the most beautiful lady one could ever imagine of. There was something about her aura, or her poise or the way she was.

Everything she did was unimaginably wonderstrucking. I was in awe of her.

She was my senior. And I met her on my very first day of my freshman year.

I remember as I walked in the gates of my college “George College of Medicine” I ran from pillar to pillar submitting all my forms, filling up every detail meticulously. It was when I was heading towards my interview with the dean that I looked at the door of the anatomy section and there was a lady.

As I recall, I stood there for about 10 minutes gazing at her. She was not one of those short-skirts-high-heels. She had the most -white-doctor’s coat on with a pair of fresh jeans. I mean it fresh jeans, with her always worn sneakers. The way she walked through the hallway, it was instant love. I remember my high school teacher speaking about, the way this world was becoming instant, but at that time I argued, but today, at this moment , I knew it was instant.

 

She was that piece of chocolate you do not want to relish but keep looking at; she was that perfect summer sky under which you want to stand for a lifetime and be loved, she was that picture of snow which was pure and no less. She was everything; she was my instant understanding of love.

The dean sitting inside thought I was too scared to carry on, so he walked out and told me that these butterflies of nervousness will eventually fly away, and that I must gear up for my year at the college.

Little did he know what had just happened; little did my heart calculate what was going to happen thereafter. But whatever it was I was going to make sure, that I was not going to let my heartbreak without trying once.

 

Days went by watching this figure of amazement, this is the thing about college life, you expect a lot from it or maybe worlds from it when in reality it is quite similar to the life one has in high school, same repeated jokes and same repeated lectures and same repeated heartbreaks. I never understood in my first year, why people always hyped about leaving their parents and shifting, it was all normal to me as a fact I had left my own country too, I had traveled overseas but there was no feeling of regret in me.

 

I was a traveler in the sea, she was both the ocean and the shore. She never noticed me, and how could have she, I never showed up in Mercedes outside her hostel room, neither did I ask her out for coffee, but what I did do was I kept my faith and I continued stalking her, as my friends said.

 

It was not until the third year, that I thought I needed to ever go up to her and talk to her, why? Because I thought looking at her was enough for my entire life.

 

It was the 3rd Of June, last day of summer, I decided that I should confess before her about all my businesses , isn’t she supposed to know why her being here was so very special to me, it should be noted that before this day I had pledged to not even let her understand that I existed, okay stalking her!

 

After having my lunch with my group of buddies, I went up to her. She was a senior again, therefore I was scared as to what consequences it might yield on my little social life in this college. I went up to her and looked her straight in the eye, believe me if she had ever taken even one class of mind reading she would have read just everything in my little brain which was all about her. (Thank god, she didn’t)

Without a pause I narrated her in modules the lecture I wanted her to listen. Now, on such occasions you wait for the other person to either kiss you, or slap you, extreme emotions are expected. What did she do? She asked me if I would want to hangout with her more before planning a life with her. Surprised ?!

 

The rest of the story is our personal endeavor of passion and longings and bliss.

We both ended up becoming the best in our fields she became a cardiologist, senior doctor and I became an orthopedic, senior doctor.

We shifted to her homeland, and we both were two crazy people in love along with our long group of friends.

Our friends were very happy for us, we had everything a huge mansion with Aston Martin One-77 and our specific Lamborghinis, we had the most exotic vacation, we had the most amazing patients, we both were doing brilliant at our jobs, the world was our genie.

 

We wanted our love to be manifested in a child and we did, our daughter “Rhea” was the result of our love.

She was one of the most adorable children which are ever born in this world, when she was born we could not but spend our entire time caring about her, days turned to weeks turned to months, and all we did was just be with her.

She was our first child, and there are many superstitions related with the first child but we cared least about them. But something was not at its best, it is a fact that a child takes time to adapt to this universe but somehow Rhea was taking more than that time, she was not normal.

We both had our worries grow each day when we looked at her, but we kept ourselves strong we knew love had the power to resolve almost any problem no matter how gigantic it may be . It was after 7 months of her birth that we took rhea to the doctor.

We went to the hospital where she was born, we didn’t have any idea what this day was to bring us, nothing, we were complete blank about its forthcomings.

 

We laid Rhea on the hospital bed and the doctor examined her, being doctors ourselves we didn’t understand the problem quite well too. It was peculiar, rhea had nothing wrong with her body structure, neither was her head too big, or her IQ low, but her increased blood flow was astonishing.

My wife herself found her knowledge to be of less worthy when it came to her notice.

The doctors too found it complex. Initially it wasn’t that bad, but something kept shooting our troubles day after day.

Finally we decided to take her for an advanced level of examination by high level scientist and doctors.

After 8 hours of research on a 1 year old baby, did they all come to the conclusion that rhea was born with 2 hearts.

When my wife and I heard this, we were both in tears; it was most rare to hear any kind of weird organ plantation like this. We thought too ourselves two hearts, we both had taken the pledge to be strong no matter what succeeded us but in that hour we kept crying and crying, nothing could stop us.

We took Rhea home, and from that day kept her like flower petals, she grew up and had the same aura, the same looks, she was a replica of her mother, the only features she had of mine were her sense of humor.

 

It was on her 17th birthday when my wife and I decided to openly discuss her health conditions with her. The scientists wanted us to operate one heart out of her system so that she could be termed normal , and plus that one heart might be able to help transplanting life in someone elses system.

 

 

‘Are you sure, Rhea?’ asks my mother.

‘Of course I’m. Survival of the fittest, mother. I’m not going against Darwin. Also I don’t want unnecessary scars on my body.’

It’s a known fact that we are all born to die. And frankly, I don’t understand why it has to be made into such a big deal. If it were not for my mother I would have said that to the bunch of people outside my house, some of them with young kids, shouting slogans, waving placards, literally wanting me to cut one of my beating hearts out. “Save A Life. Donate!” they shout.

For someone who is one in billions, 7.125 billion to be exact, I expect to be treated better. Scientists are still befuddled regarding my condition that gave me two hearts in my mother’s womb. But years of research and sticking needles into me have led them nowhere, and they have labeled me as a freak mutation. It’s so rare – literally one in all humankind – that they didn’t even name the anomaly (as they call it, I will call it awesomeness). I wanted to name the condition myself, something on the lines of Rhea’s Heartsawesome but the doctors aren’t thrilled with the suggestion. Instead they want to cut one of them out and save a life. Huh?

An IQ of 180, increased concentration, exceptional athleticism and a phenomenal metabolism rate – are just the few boring benefits of an increased blood circulation. Why would I ever give that up?

 

 

When we heard rhea say this we were proud parents, that little abyss which was dug that day outside the observation room was filled today. We never thought Rhea would be so strong, maybe it was because of the lessons that my wife instilled in her. When Rhea was little my wife would not sleep at nights, and would recite stories to rhea about bravery and strength, she would illustrate to her the fact that she had to always be a pioneering student of truth and goodness.

There were tears in my eyes, and my wife looked straight in my face read my mind instantly. Rhea trotted and hugged both of us.

She said, “Mother the lessons you taught me when I was young are the reasons I walk with confidence today, thank you for making me strong”.

Those moments were treasures for me.

 

She had the best birthday ever, with her group of friends, eating her favourites out of every plate.

While we both sat outside remembering our days when she was younger. We were pure emotional.

 

Rhea was pure hearted, kind and gentle, she had a very strong personality. She lived every moment more than what others could aspire for , she did what she wanted to do, she was sporty, and was a soul made out of pure goodness.

She was our creation of love, she was our daughter.

 

And for the readers, she never underwent any surgery, she lived her entire life with two hearts, the scientists who happened to be our friends although never accepted her idea to name the miracle of having 2 hearts, Rhea’s Heartsawesome, still we continue to push them into this idea quite often.

Rhea was a definition of everything that could be. She was our hero, and she was our expression of love.

 

 

Leave a Reply

